I guess I am officially a homeschool mom

homeschool

After much deliberation and slight marital conflict, I have agreed to homeschool my son for preschool. Apparently, my husband has more confidence in my teaching ability than I do. I began by reading the pertinent portions of THE WELL TRAINED MIND. They suggest the single most important part of preschool is getting your children to “read and read very well.” This is my goal for right now and in the fall, I will have a curriculum for him that includes science experiments.

I have had set learning time for him since he was nine months old (included such things as rolling a ball and learning to climb steps), and by the time he was 18 months old, he had memorized the Greek alphabet. I cannot brag here because although I taught it to him, he knew it better than I ever did! These children just learn what we pour into them. I also knew he was ready to start writing over the summer because one morning I got out of the shower and he had written his name on the white board. We had never practiced writing letters before that!

Right now, learning time in our home looks like this. I don’t do all of these every day, I gauge his attention span and accommodate appropriately. He can usually do about 30 minutes of learning time everyday.

-Either one page of phonics, a BOB Book, or a pre-reader with the pictures in place of the words

-One time over previously memorized site words, and introduction of a new site word

-Math with Lego’s. I write an equation and he uses the Lego’s to figure it out. He understands the +, -, and = signs

-Practicing writing simple letters correctly and holding the pencil correctly

-Reading a Bible passage or memorizing a scripture

I also do “learning time” with my four month old. This includes full body massages while we have deep mommy/daughter conversation, tummy time with toys to her left and right so she must move to get there, and back time with toys to her left so she must roll onto her side to reach them. By far, her favorite portion of learning time is being rewarded with milk and snuggles upon getting fussy.

21 thoughts on “I guess I am officially a homeschool mom

  1. Awesome! I raised 3 children like I was “supposed” to. Not the best experience. . .The last one I made the choice to homeschool–she’s now 25, a successful career woman, and not one regret do I have. Yay!

      • 25 years ago where I lived homeschooling was a radical thing to do–you were supposed to turn the training of your children over to someone else. My experience with the older was losing control and they all ended up with problems. The last one we gave her a solid foundation until middle school and then she was able to stand up to peer pressure and had a wonderful highschool experience.

        • I think homeschooling is slowly becoming more popular, but it seems anyone over the age of 40 that I come in contact with is concerned about the welfare of my children not being in public school πŸ˜‰ I hope your older ones are doing better now.

          • And don’t think I didn’t have problems–I was 40 when I began homeschooling my last child–so I was supposed to “know better” lol! Just do what you know is right for you and your family. πŸ™‚

  2. I’m homeschooling right now, and let me tell you – it has its ups and downs, but it’s a thousand times better than I’d imagined. I can take a week and have a “break” if I need it, and the kids don’t fall behind because in our every day interactions, we’re still constantly learning together.

    The BOB books are my all-time favorite for early reading. Also, starfall.com – it’s awesome!! My 6yo is reading independently now, but I’d agree with what some previous posters said: love for hearing stories and story comprehension is vastly more important. The actual act of reading will come when it comes.

    I don’t talk about my family on the blog I’m writing right now, but I’d be more than happy to talk to you about the experience of homeschooling little ones while working through the other stuff if you ever feel you need someone to talk to. Just drop me a line over there in any old comment section!

    • Thank you for your encouraging words! Someone else recently told me to check out starfall.com, it looks awesome! I have yet to introduce it to my son, but I will. Right now he is content reading books along with me.

Leave a Reply

