A Doable Schedule

ScheduleMy new therapist suggested I do my best to follow a consistent schedule and thought that was the very next step for me, besides seeing a psychiatrist. I shared that I am less capable of getting things accomplished on bad days, and that my bad days usually revolve around getting less sleep (hence the bad day has a scheduled nap for me!). Therefore, I made three schedules to go by that have doable goals for each level of emotion. As I have time, I will put coping skills into the various groupings, but I thought these overall categories were good enough to start with. I also started to make a schedule that has a column for each person in the family (namely, what I need to be doing for each of them during each time frame), and that’s what I’ll probably go by, but here is my first attempt at ordered living ๐Ÿ™‚

We’ll see how it goes. I much prefer making pretty charts and schedules than actually going by them. This chart is far from being perfected! Excel is so fun ๐Ÿ™‚

11 thoughts on “A Doable Schedule

    • Ha! Glad someone agrees with me! Since it’s pretty much what I do anyway, I figure it won’t be so hard to follow. Except I’m giving myself permission to relax my schedule on bad days instead of getting upset with myself ๐Ÿ˜‰

  1. Wow, I see the value in form and a schedule but may I suggest that whatever you accomplish is perfect.

    Judging performance inflamed my PTSD, made me feel unworthy and brought more suffering to me anyway.
    .
    The ego is the culprit who wants to compare, label, then file away neatly all of life.

    Wonder if each day is a miracle not good or bad but a gift to be lived and not cognitively dissected.
    .
    I found judgment to be so detrimental to my healing and letting go.

    Good healing

    • Thanks for the feedback, and thanks for reading! I agree that judgment perpetuates the cycle. That’s why I’ve categorized it, to allow myself a bad day (including a nap for me and movie for my child). I think my therapist wants me to have something predictable to fall back on. Unfortunately, my status quo on bad days is to shut down completely, which is not acceptable when I have a career, a husband, and two young kids- one of whom I homeschool. The bad days is allowing a break and still giving me a goal, because I still have to feed my children and take care of them, despite my diagnosis. I will be adding to the schedule my list of coping skills, including calling family and friends to help me, especially on bad days.

  2. I love the idea of recognizing that you have good days,medium days, and bad days. Thats honest and realistic, yet it still has some as semblance of a routine. I will be looking forward to the coping skills you come up with or should I say what works best in your life. Is this the Christian therapist that you mentioned before?

  3. Routine with flexibility for the type of day it is, great idea. Following a schedule often kicks in my perfectionist tendencies, so I have to remind myself not to let a “medium” day derail into “bad” just because I didn’t follow my schedule to a “T”. Also, when I find myself making a new schedule for me or my family, which I tend to do, I have to realize (for me) that sometimes this “new schedule” is an idealization of the future, and a coping mechanism for me to deal with today, the present, which is likely distressing in someway.

    • Yes yes, I noticed I like to change up the schedule on paper when I’m anxious too! I have allowed a part of my morning specifically for this, so I can acknowledge that scheduling is a comforting coping skill for me.

  4. Thank you for being open taking action, many that I approach with PTSD react as if triggered and attack for me saying you can heal.

    I have found happiness is not a goal or something we can attain. For me happiness is carried with us, underlies everyday life, exists below the surface and exists even when times are stressful.

    Happiness has a hard time being present when we have anger, hate, doubt, unworthiness or any negative feeling we say outloud or entertain the thought.

    If I judge anything I do, that judgment is sort of locked to us like an anchor, we will defend that judgment and it has become part of us.

    For me I had all these unworthy beliefs, I was flawed because my father criticized and beat me incessantly for nothing. Mi do not have or let me say I do not entertain or say anything negative and resist judging not only me but others as much as possible.

    The result life freed up and each day was a day, they were not anything, good bad hard easy they were a miracle and I was granted the breath to live it fully not cognitive dissect it or judge it.

Leave a Reply

