Making a Choice

schedule2I am actively making a choice to turn my potentially bad day into a good day. I am saying to myself, “I can put a movie on for my son and be perfectly okay with it because I’ve written bad days into my routine. However, since I have a choice, I am going to push through and do what needs to be done.” I’m taking a breather to come up with an action plan and coping skills to help me manage today. Today I have to say goodbye to my therapist. Plus, work has been quite stressful the past few weeks and I’m finally starting to process it today. Anyway, today my family needs me. Instead of shutting down and choosing self-loathing, I colored my completed tasks to red in order to have a visual of what all I need to complete (and to see how much I’ve completed even through my spiral). I wrote my to-do list at the bottom, but really the only thing that *needs* to get done are the race bibs. I have to write 200 names, ages, and sexes on 200 bibs for tomorrow’s race.

Regarding my chosen coping skills for the day, I have found that if I ground myself with all my senses, it tends to work wonders. Therefore, I bought a pack of Jolly Ranchers to use. Silly putty really grounds me too.

Disclaimer: I am actually quite unorganized, despite posting my schedule for the past two days!! It is very unlike me to follow through with a routine like this. We’ll see how long it lasts, but it seems to be working right now.

6 thoughts on “Making a Choice

  1. I really admire your positive approach to your difficulties although i imagine it must be hell sometimes, getting through everything you have to (a lot!). As for the race bibs, i think you will be up past midnight doing that lot! I think it’s great that you are aiming to follow schedules which i know take a lot of discipline and i hope you’re not too hard on yourself if they go a bit squiffy occasionally. I admire how much you get done.
    Sending hugs xxx ❤

  2. Oh yeah and…pretty please with sprinkles on top can you put a follow blog via email widget on your site so I can receive the posts in my inbox? Its under appearance in settings and then widgets in appearance. XXX

Leave a Reply

