Why I dropped to the half marathon- I’M PREGNANT!

I’m pregnant!

CIMG9999edited

I have been very quiet on here lately because we’ve been keeping the pregnancy quiet- and that’s all I want to blog about! I am 12 weeks 5 days pregnant, and due at the end of March 2015. We were able to see the baby on ultrasound yesterday, and he (or she) was hanging upside down kicking his legs, completely oblivious to the outside world.

We are a little overwhelmed at the prospect of having three babies to take care of, but excited- both at the very same time! I have quit therapy because of the new baby, though. I’m still not sure how I feel about it. My therapist is a trauma therapist, and I do not want to process my trauma while I am pregnant. It’s hard enough to keep my emotions in check with ginormous hormones and a big fat belly, so I think I’ll spend the next year focusing on what she has taught me. We will keep in contact, and perhaps in the future, if I need it, I will return to finish what we started.

Right now, I am focusing on meeting my children’s needs and trying to get food on the table regularly- meals is my Achilles heel. We are also now the proud owners of TWO businesses, one of which has been running for the past two generations. My husband is the third generation to take it over. We are excited but again, overwhelmed! 🙂

I am also strongly considering changing my blog url and my username. I am ready to move on from being identified with my mental illness. I still want to bring awareness to it, but I am not a victim. I am a survivor. I want my blog to reflect this. I am tired of dwelling on my struggles. I am ready to move forward and focus on my health, not my past.

I will post on my half marathon next. It was quite an experience!!!

 

7 thoughts on “Why I dropped to the half marathon- I’M PREGNANT!

  1. How lovely to see you back and huge congratulations on your pregnancy. I am so pleased for you. Seeing your baby in the scan must have been wonderful for you. You’re very determined to still attempt even the half marathon! I can imagine how busy you re going to be with looking after three babies.

    I think you are wise to postpone your trauma therapy as babies in the womb do pick up on stress and distress. I also understand you wanting to move away from being known as a ‘mental health disorder’ rather than an individual. Do let me know your new username and url when you decide to switch over. I’ve been thinking on similar lines now I am involved with college etc but fortunately my username is just that – a name as opposed to a definition. I tried to set up a second and different type of blog on WordPress but I couldn’t get the system to also this. Do let me know how you achieve this if you do as I could use a few pointers.

    As I said, I am so thrilled for you and your growing family. Do take care, my friend. Hugs, Ellie xxx ❤ 🙂

    • I’ll let you know how, but I do have someone I follow who straight up changed her username and url for her current blog, so she didn’t lose any followers or email notification followers. I will try to figure it out in the not so distant future, I’m hoping! xx thanks it’s good to hear from you.

  2. I like this post because you wrote it with so much happy excitement. May the One Above bless you with every strength to do what you need to do. All the best to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

